(902) 585-1422 aufa@acadiau.ca

Awards & FUnding

CAUT dedicated service award

Rachel Brickner receiving the CAUT Dedicated Service award from Darlene Brodeur at the AUFA general meeting of April 17, 2018.

Past Recipients

2024 – Richard Karsten
2023 – Anthony Pash
2022 – Andrew Biro and Jessica Slights
2021 – Diane Holmberg and Darren Kruisselbrink
2020 – Marc Ramsay
2019 – Zelda Abramson
2018 – Rachel Brickner
2017 – Paul Abela and Anna Kiefte
2015 – Darlene Brodeur and Cindy Trudel
2014 – John Eustace
2013 – Karmen Bleile and Paul Hobson
2012 – Vernon Provencal
2011 – Janice Best and Erin Patterson
2010 – Pat O’Neill
2009 – Jim Sacouman


student awards

The Acadia University Faculty Association (AUFA) has instituted two annual awards, valued up to $2,000, for a student in their final year of undergraduate study at Acadia, as well as a student bursary.

The Lois Vallely-Fischer Award for Democratic Student Citizenship recognizes the contributions of a senior baccalaureate student who has contributed to the quality of democratic discourse, critical thought, and legitimate contestation in campus or community life, and who has demonstrated leadership in defending student political rights and the interests of disadvantaged groups.

The Patrick O’Neill Award for Labour Activism recognizes the contributions of a senior student baccalaureate student who has advocated for the rights of the students and employees of Acadia within the university, within the Wolfville and Valley communities,  and to the provincial and federal governments

Nominations may be made by students and/or AUFA members. Award recipients will be selected by a committee of AUFA members and will be presented with the award at the Association’s annual general meeting in April. In addition to the cash component, recipients will be awarded a memento, and her or his name will be embossed on a plaque in a permanent location in the Student Union Building.

The AUFA Student Bursary is awarded annually to an Acadia University student who exhibits financial need. Preference is given to an immediate family member (child or spouse) of any unionized employee (not limited to Acadia unions). The bursary was established in 2007.

Lois Vallely-Fischer Award for Democratic Student Citizenship – Past Recipients

2023-24 – Emme Manuel
2022-23 – Molly Sutherland
2021-22 – Kiara Sexton
2020-21 – Leah Creaser
2019-20 – Samantha Firth
2018-19 – Laura Fisher
2017-18 – Grace Hamilton-Burge
2015-16 – Maya Basa; Sadie Moland
2014-15 – Stephanie Bethune, Kayla Cunningham
2013-14 – Andrew Crosbie
2012-13 – Emma Cochrane

2011-12 – Robynn Moody
2010-11 – Sarah Story
2009-10 – Brynne Sinclair-Waters, Alison Vervaeke
2008-09 – Kathryn Furtado, Wil Lang
2007-08 – Julie Stewart
2006-07 – Ben Whynot
2005-06 – Sarah O’Connor
2004-05 – Gary Porter
2003-04 – Taralyn McMullen
2002-03 – Michael Marin

Patrick O’Neill Award for Labour Activism – Past Recipient

2022-23 – Max Abu-Laban
2021-22 – Sarah Myatt Shafer

AUFA Student Bursary

2022-23 – Kiya McDow
2021-22 – Logan Thomas McNamee

Travel Assistance Fund

AUFA makes available up to$5000 per year to assist members to attend events, conferences, or workshops that are related to your work as a member of the Association. Activities with a focus on labour and political action, academic freedom, social justice, and other such topics, or professional development activities directly related to a committee you are sitting on or other work you are doing as an AUFA representative will be given priority. This fund is additional to what is regularly spent to sponsor attendance at CAUT meetings and training. All current AUFA members are eligible to apply. There will be two application deadlines per year: October 15th and March 15th .

More details can be found here.

Acadia University is built on the traditional and unceded territory of the Mi’kmaq Nation. We are all Treaty People.

© Copyright 2022 Acadia University Faculty Association | All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy